Her Father’s Lamp

Image

lvbydawne_2

Image Source: Dawn M. Miller

“Are you sure it’s here?”

“I don’t know. All mother would say was that she sold it to Bob.”

“This is Bob’s stall, but I don’t see him or the lamp.”

Kate thought of her mother. Sweet but senile. Yesterday, she had sold most of her antiques to her neighbor, the nosy dealer. He had ripped her off.

All Kate needed was the lamp. Her father’s.

Her only memory of her father was that of him sitting in the study, with the lamp on and a book in his hands.

She was 4 when he died.

She was never going to find the lamp now, was she?

This is written as part of the Friday Fictioneers Challenge – Write a one hundred word story that has a beginning, middle and end. Today’s prompt is the above picture.

Hope you enjoyed.

22 thoughts on “Her Father’s Lamp

  1. Dear Anjana,

    First, Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. Once you start, it’s hard to stop.

    Sweet and sentimental story. Funny how those items that didn’t mean a lot to us in childhood become all encompassing. I truly related to this as I’ve been on this journey for a few years now and have had the good fortune to recoup some of these things. Not the actual ones, but certainly in the same family. For me it’s 1950’s restaurant items for my father owned a restaurant back then. Okay…I’ll stop now.

    Suffice it to say I enjoyed your story and look forward to seeing more of your work in the future.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Thanks for the warm welcome, Rochelle. I am sure to have fun with this challenge.
      Thank you so much for sharing your memories and experiences with me. Funny how a 100-word story can stir up hidden memories and bring people together!

  2. Deanna Herrmann

    Touching story and reminds me of my grandfather. When his wife died, her lawyer threw out everything before contacting my father. We lost all of our family photos and memories. People can be so cruel when they take advantage of the elderly and sick. Nice job.

Leave a Reply

